INFINITE POWDER

Additive manufacturing with pure copper

The additive production of pure copper opens up new fields of application. For example, components with integrated electronics for electromobility benefit from the great design freedom of 3D printing. However, the handling of copper should not be underestimated: the positive material properties such as conductivity and ductility also bring disadvantages. To get around this, Infinite Powder has now developed a surface-modified pure copper that can be processed using standard SLM systems and enables thermal and electrical conductivity in the range of > 90 IACS.

01.

Why pure copper?

Almost all industries value copper due to its high electrical and thermal conductivity. Unfortunately, it is precisely these two sought-after material properties that have made processing copper difficult to impossible in additive manufacturing. Infinite Powder has now solved this problem and developed a copper powder that can be processed with common laser systems.

02.

What is Infinite Copper?

Infinite Powder Cu is made of pure copper and is used where excellent thermal or electrical conductivity is absolutely necessary – and conventional manufacturing processes fail. With Infinite Powder Cu, it is possible for the first time to process pure copper on standard SLM systems with infrared lasers without restrictions. The components printed using the SLM process achieve peak values in electrical and thermal conductivity of almost 90 IACS. With Infinite Powder Cu, new fields of application with extreme high-tech requirements can be tapped.

03.

Compatibility in the SLM process?

Infinite Powder Cu is processed using the same established SLM process that our customers already use with other metal powders. Therefore, processing Infinite Powder Cu does not require hardware or software changes to the SLM system. All Metal Powders from Infinite Powder are compatible with all established systems on the market and can be used reliably.

Processes

 

Infinite Powder Cu uses a surface functionalization of metal powders developed by us, which makes 3D printing of copper possible for the first time with standard infrared lasers.

Our metal powders are particularly suitable for the following additive manufacturing processes:

  • Selective laser sintering (SLM)
  • Laser application welding (LMD)
  • Plasma Metallization / Digital Direct Metallization (DDM)

 

 

 

 

 

VIEW MORE >

Metal powder

 

Infinite Powder Cu offers the possibility to produce copper components and machine elements with excellent thermal and electrical conductivity additively. This is the first time that the advantages and design freedoms of additive manufacturing are also available for highly conductive copper components. It has already been shown that the cooling performance of heat exchanger elements can be significantly improved by adapting the design to the flow mechanics.

Pure copper for 3D printing is now available to our customers all over the world. We are excited and very excited about what our customers will create with their inventiveness on your Infinite Copper SLM systems. Infinite Powder is changing production today – what are you waiting for?

Photo: Lightway GmbH & Co. KG

VIEW MORE >

Easy processing in the SLM process

Infinite Powder Cu uses a surface functionalization of metal powders developed by us, which makes 3D printing of copper possible for the first time with standard infrared lasers.

In the additive production of pure copper, there is an unresolved problem for users and developers: The high conductivity and ductility of copper ensures that the laser shafts are already reflected on the copper surface, as in a mirror. In addition, the high conductivity of the copper means that heat energy is dissipated very quickly and the process window narrows extremely. The above-mentioned material properties therefore make it difficult to process copper using conventional laser-based processes. For example, SLM and LMD processes typically use red laser beams to melt the powder materials. However, since red lasers are strongly reflected by copper, components printed from copper powder have a very high porosity. For the quality of SLM components, it is also important to guarantee a uniform cooling process, which is only possible to a limited extent with the fast cooling copper parts.

In The Metal Powders of Infinite Powder, each powder particle is surrounded by a nanometer layer of a special infrared absorbing crystal lattice. This crystal lattice absorbs a very large part of the laser energy and thus causes a uniform melting of the copper particles.

The formation of a stable melting range almost completely prevents the formation of pores. Therefore, the resulting printed components have minimal porosities and have excellent conductivity in the IACS range of magnitude.

Photo: 30 micron metal particles Infinite Powder Cu with surface functionalization

Contact

Infinite Flex Ltd.

Huguenot Avenue 169

63263 Neu-Isenburg

Germany

Phone

+49 (0) 6102 325 9965

ema’l

info@infinite-flex.de

Contact Us

Pure copper for additive manufacturing is now available to our customers around the world. We are very much looking forward to seeing what our customers print with Infinite Powder Cu. Infinite Powder Cu is changing industrial production today – what are you waiting for?

4 + 14 =

INFINITE POWDER 

Additive Fertigung mit Rein-Kupfer

Die additive Fertigung von Rein-Kupfer eröffnet neue Anwendungsgebiete. Beispielsweise profitieren Bauteile mit integrierter Elektronik für die Elektromobilität von der großen Designfreiheit des 3D-Drucks. Allerdings ist das Handling von Kupfer nicht zu unterschätzen: Die positiven Materialeigenschaften wie Leitfähigkeit und Duktilität bringen auch Nachteile mit sich. Um diese zu umgehen, hat Infinite Powder nun ein oberflächenmodifiziertes Rein-Kupfer entwickelt, welches mittels Standard SLM Anlagen verarbeitet werden kann und thermische und elektrische Leitfähigkeiten im Bereich von >90% IACS ermöglicht.

01.

Warum Rein-Kupfer?

Fast alle Industrien schätzen Kupfer aufgrund seiner hohen elektrischen und thermischen Leitfähigkeit. Leider sind es genau diese beiden begehrten Materialeigenschaften, die bislang eine Verarbeitung von Kupfer in der additiven Fertigung schwierig bis unmöglich gemacht haben. Infinite Powder hat dieses Problem jetzt gelöst und ein Kupferpulver entwickelt, das mit üblichen Laseranlagen verarbeitet werden kann.

02.

Was ist Infinite Copper?

Infinite Powder Cu besteht aus reinem Kupfer und wird dort eingesetzt, wo exzellente thermische oder elektrische Leitfähigkeiten unbedingt erforderlich sind – und herkömmliche Herstellungsverfahren versagen. Mit Infinite Powder Cu ist es erstmals möglich Rein-Kupfer auf marktüblichen SLM-Anlagen mit Infrarotlaser ohne Einschränkungen zu verarbeiten. Die im SLM-Verfahren gedruckten Bauelemente erreichen Spitzenwerte bei elektrischen und thermischen Leitfähigkeiten von nahezu 90% IACS. Mit Infinite Powder Cu lassen sich dadurch neue Anwendungsfelder mit extremen High-Tech-Anforderungen erschließen.

03.

Kompatibilität im SLM Prozess?

Die Verarbeitung von Infinite Powder Cu erfolgt mit dem gleichen etablierten SLM-Verfahren, das unsere Kunden bereits bei anderen Metallpulvern anwenden. Deshalb sind bei der Verarbeitung von Infinite Powder Cu keine Hardware- oder Softwareänderungen an der SLM-Anlage erforderlich. Alle Metallpulver von Infinite Powder sind mit sämtlichen am Markt etablierten Anlagen kompatibel und prozesssicher anwendbar.

Prozesse

 

Infinite Powder Cu nutzt eine von uns entwickelte Oberflächenfunktionalisierung von Metallpulvern, die das 3D-Drucken von Kupfer zum ersten Mal mit Standard Infrarotlasern möglich macht.

Unsere Metallpulver eignen besonders für folgende Additive Fertigungsverfahren:

  • Selektives Lasersintern (SLM)
  • Laserauftragsschweißen (LMD)
  • Plasma-Metallisierung / Digitale Direkt-Metallisierung (DDM)

 

 

 

 

 

VIEW MORE  >

Metallpulver

 

Infinite Powder Cu bietet die Möglichkeit, Bauteile und Maschinenelemente aus Kupfer mit exzellenter thermischer und elektrischer Leitfähigkeit additiv zu fertigen. Damit stehen nun erstmalig die Vorteile und gestalterischen Freiheiten der additiven Fertigung auch für hochleitfähige Kupferkomponenten offen. So konnte bereits gezeigt werden, daß sich durch Anpassung der Bauform an die Strömungsmechanik die Kühlleistung von Wärmetauscher-Elementen signifikant verbessern lassen.

Rein-Kupfer für den 3D Druck ist jetzt für unsere Kunden auf der ganzen Welt erhältlich. Wir sind gespannt und freuen uns sehr darauf, was unsere Kunden mit Ihrem Ideenreichtum auf Ihren SLM-Anlagen aus Infinite Copper erschaffen werden. Infinite Powder verändert heute die Fertigung – worauf warten Sie noch?

Foto: Lightway GmbH & Co. KG

VIEW MORE  >

Einfache Verarbeitung im SLM Prozess

Infinite Powder Cu nutzt eine von uns entwickelte Oberflächenfunktionalisierung von Metallpulvern, die das 3D-Drucken von Kupfer zum ersten Mal mit Standard Infrarotlasern möglich macht.

Bei der additiven Fertigung von Rein-Kupfer gibt es für Anwender und Entwickler ein bislang ungelöstes Problem: Die hohe Leitfähigkeit und Duktilität von Kupfer sorgt dafür, dass die Laserwellen bereits an der Kupferoberfläche reflektiert werden, wie bei einem Spiegel. Zusätzlich führt die hohe Leitfähigkeit des Kupfers dazu, dass Wärmeenergie sehr schnell abgeführt wird und sich das Prozessfenster extrem verengt. Die genannten Materialeigenschaften machen es also schwierig, Kupfer mit üblichen laserbasierten Verfahren zu verarbeiten. So nutzen beispielsweise SLM- und LMD-Verfahren in der Regel rote Laserstrahlen, um die Pulvermaterialien aufzuschmelzen. Da rote Laser von Kupfer aber stark reflektiert werden, weisen aus Kupferpulver gedruckte Bauelemente eine sehr hohe Porosität auf. Für die Qualitätsgüte von SLM-Bauteilen ist es außerdem wichtig, einen gleichmäßigen Kühlprozess zu garantieren, was bei den schnell abkühlenden Kupferteilen nur eingeschränkt möglich ist.

Bei den Metallpulvern von Infinite Powder ist jedes Pulverpartikel mit einer Nanometerschicht eines speziellen Infrarot absorbierenden Kristallgitters umgeben. Dieses Kristallgitter absorbiert die Laserenergie zu einem sehr großen Teil und bewirkt dadurch ein gleichmäßiges Aufschmelzen der Kupferpartikel.

Die Ausbildung eines stabilen Schmelzbereiches verhindert nahezu vollständig die Entstehung von Poren. Deshalb weisen die daraus resultierenden gedruckten Bauelemente nur minimale Porositäten auf und besitzen exzellente Leitfähigkeiten im IACS-Größenordnungsbereich.

Foto: 30µm Metallpartikel Infinite Powder Cu mit Oberflächenfunktionalisierung

Kontakt

Infinite Flex GmbH

Hugenottenallee 169

63263 Neu-Isenburg

Deutschland

Phone

+49 (0) 6102 325 9965

emaıl

info@infinite-flex.de

Kontakt zu Uns

Rein-Kupfer für die Additive Fertigung ist jetzt für unsere Kunden auf der ganzen Welt erhältlich. Wir freuen uns sehr darauf zu sehen, was unsere Kunden mit Infinite Powder Cu drucken. Infinite Powder Cu verändert heute die industrielle Fertigung – worauf warten Sie noch?

14 + 13 =